Skip to content

My Top 10 Films of All Time (2012)

August 3, 2012

In the past I’ve tried to come up with a list of the ‘Top 10 Films of All Time”, and ended up coming up with a Top 100.  With all the talk that’s going around the Internet about Vertigo “dethroning” Citizen Kane as the best movie of all time (according to the British Film Institute), I’ve decided to finally come up with my own Top 10 list.  I lied, it’s a Top 12 but I’m not the only one who couldn’t cut it down to 10.  According to the list’s posted by CinemaBlend, it looks like David O. Russel, Quentin Tarantino and Martin Scorsese narrowed it down to 11-12.  I had a hard time deciding which 2 films to cut so if we could just make a little more room, these would be my choices (in no particular order).

Bicycle Thieves  (1948, dir. Vittorio De Sica)

Raging Bull (1980, dir. Martin Scorsese)

Citzen Kane (1941, dir. Orson Welles)

Cinema Paradiso (1988, dir. Giuseppe Tornatore)

On the Waterfront (1954, dir. Elia Kazan)

Wild Strawberries (1957, dir. Ingmar Bergman)

City Lights (1931, dir. Charlie Chaplin)

Eyes Wide Shut (1999, dir. Stanley Kubrick)

8 ½ (1963, dir. Federico Fellini)

Chinatown (1974, dir. Roman Polanski)

The 400 Blows (1959, dir. Francois Truffaut)

Bob Le Flambeur (1956, dir. Jean-Pierre Melville)

Although I’ve already chosen 12, here are some honorable mentions — Barry Lyndon, Rosemary’s Baby, Jules et Jim, and Breathless.

My choices are based on the entire process of filmmaking, but mostly for the story and how it’s being told on screen.  I could watch each of these films from beginning to end and forget I was even watching a movie!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 117 other followers

