Skip to content

From Kubrick to Cameron

December 18, 2009

I couldn’t help but think of Stanley Kubricks time travel sequence during Avatar for a few short moments.  They both have a very similar effect but I got a greater feeling from Avatar like I was being sucked into a new world quickly.  Kubricks sequence is paced out a bit longer and slows things down.  You have to agree that Cameron was influenced by Kubrick!  Looking at 2001: A Space Odyssey today it wouldn’t feel entirely out dated.  In fact you might actually believe it was created sometime in this past decade if its your first time seeing it.  Also remembering that not only was 2001: A Space Odyssey a huge step for filmmaking back in 1968, so was the time travel effect being that nobody had ever seen light visually projected at you like that in a film.  If I had to compare the two and choose which sci-fi film I thought was best I’d have to choose 2001: A Space Odyssey.  I think the way the story telling was done, including the visual effects, stands stronger.  Avatar has a great story but the technology is doing more for the film, where as 2001: A Space Odyssey is progressive in multiple ways.  However, both are so alike in the way how they’re ground breaking and progressing movies!  Its great to look at the history of film and wonder what the people were think 41 years ago when they seen 2001: A Space Odyssey and now today after seeing Avatar I wonder what the future of film holds.

5 Comments
  1. Jacque permalink
    December 18, 2009 4:12 pm

    Space Odyssey was panned and categorized as a film for the acid tripping hippie crowd. I’m not sure who the “crowd” for Avatar is, but I think it’s the crowd waiting for a revolution in film.

  2. December 18, 2009 4:19 pm

    I think the crowd back then for the most part disliked 2001: A Space Odyssey. It seems like today people are loving Avatar but there are those who don’t care for it. How ‘2001’ was ahead of its time, I think Avatar is right on time! The revolution of film has begun?

  3. Jacque permalink
    December 19, 2009 4:53 pm

    “The revolution of film has begun?”
    Yes, for action adventure films, and even that is highly doubtful. Since this film was so expensive, studios are not going to be shelling out that type of money for just any director. And no one is going to be making A Streetcar named Desire in motion capture 3D, and if they do God help us.
    And IMHO Space Odyssey was a masterpiece because Kubrick was able to piece together incredible visuals with an original and thought provoking plot Cameron failed in the latter and that takes away from Avatar’s greatness IMO.

  4. December 19, 2009 6:03 pm

    I agree. I think this 3d thing should only be done with certain movies. I kind of see it as a form of stylization, where it should be used to improve a story and not depended on. Thanks for your comments!

  5. Chauncey Mccaughey permalink
    December 27, 2009 11:21 pm

    This is just amazing read so I just had to say thankyou.

Comments are closed.

