Skip to content

The Blob Vs The Shining

March 7, 2010

While I was watching The Oscars tonight I saw a clip from a movie called The Blob and it reminded me of a scene from The Shining.  In the first video posted above at :44 seconds you can see The Blob coming through a doorway.  In the second video you will see blood coming through the elevator doors in the movie The Shining.  During the awards I thought to myself, “I wonder which came first and if any of the directors might of been inspired by the other?”.  I looked both movies up online and found out that The Blob directed by Irvin S. Yeaworth Jr., was created in 1958 and The Shining directed by Stanley Kubrick in 1980.  I’m a big fan of Stanley Kubrick and some see him as a genius for his films, so I immediately thought his film may have inspired the director of The Blob but apparently it may have been the other way around.  Do you think Stanley Kubrick might of been inspired by the horror The Blob caused and adopted a similar situation with the blood coming through the elevator doors for his film or is it just a coincidence?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

