Skip to content

Trash

April 17, 2010

“I don’t think there’s any artist of any value who doesn’t doubt what they’re doing.” -Francis Ford Coppola.  It seems this is always a feeling I crash into.  I couldn’t help but rip everything I drew today and throw it in the trash.  I didn’t have the patients but I had all the time in the world.  So I scribbled this nonsense.  Something about creating for me always has to end with personal satisfaction.  I don’t care how I feel during the process of creation so long as when its time to go to bed I can go to bed happy.  I’ve taken on creating something everyday and so many times I just want to skip a day but I know if I could just get through the struggle I can make something to satisfy that creative need.  I think it could be a good idea to take a break sometimes but I feel like I’m wasting ideas and thoughts by keeping them in my head.  Self doubt is the worst thought to have on your mind.  It’s discouraging, distracting and miserable.  That’s why the goal for each day is to create something from nothing and when time goes by I can look back at a pile of trash and find a few good ideas that came through successfully.  There’s another satisfying part about creating which is sharing with others.  If you don’t share with others then the thought or idea might as well stay in your head.  This is why I post all my trash online.  I guess “one mans trash is another mans treasure”, but first I have to be somewhat content at the end of the day with my creations before sharing.  Filmmaking and Editing is what really got me going but after so many years I kind of got bored with it.  I still love it but at the same time I don’t have anything I’ve wanted to say through video lately.  I still have constant thoughts and ideas but I feel like I’m holding onto those for when the times right.  I think as a filmmaker you have to be in touch with many different forms of art.  This is why I’ve fully taken on drawing everyday because in the past year or so I’ve been doing a lot of sitting around brainstorming ideas.  Drawing is something I can use to express short term thoughts but also for other means such as storyboarding.  I think I need to start writing because I would like to fill my original form of satisfaction which is filmmaking.  Somewhere in the future I need to gather all of these ideas I’m building up and put together a video.  This is the struggle of creating visual art!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

