Skip to content

Shutter Island Review

June 29, 2010

I just finished watching Shutter Island for the first time.  I was thinking it was released last year but after looking up the film on IMDB I realized it came out this year!  When I first saw the trailer for this I knew I had to see the film.  Of course it being directed by Martin Scorsese made me want to see it even more.  It’s too bad I didn’t get to view it in theaters but watching it on a huge flat screen on my couch wasn’t so bad.  I’m not going to tell you what the films about or break down the plot because you can read that anywhere but my immediate opinion on the film is that it was psychologically interesting and I recommend you watch it.

Looking at the film from a cinematic point of view I thought the cinematography was excellent.  I noticed in the beginning of the film where “Teddy” (Leonardo DiCaprio) is traveling in a car to Shutter Island, it was a very smooth crane or helicopter shot and I new from that point I was in for the ride.  The screenplay is based on a novel by Dennis Lehane and I thought Scorsese’s direction was genius.  I haven’t read the novel but the film comes off dark, mysterious and visually pleasing.  I felt the influence of Alfred Hitchcock and was hooked to the story like I was watching an Orson Welles film but of course this was a Martin Scorsese film and I loved every minute of it!  I have to say though that you have to give it a chance, the first 20 or so minutes might be slow for you but in the end you will enjoy it.  There were some parts in the film where I felt the editing may have been “off”.  It appeared from the first watch that the audio from one cut to another didn’t sync up very few times in the film.  I don’t think this is a mistake though, if anything it added a sense of delusion to the story.  I need to watch the film again before I go any further with critiquing because I know there is probably a handful of things that I may have missed that’ll be pleasing.  This is one of those films that I can watch many times even if I know the outcome, that’s probably because its a film directed by Martin Scorsese!

Have you seen the film yet?  What are your thoughts on the film and did anything in particular stand out to you?  The photos above I got from Slash Film where you can probably find a review by them too.  Follow @RaymondRoman on Twitter or Facebook.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2010 6:39 am

    Right on Ray, I had the exact same experience. I just saw the film last week myself and was really drawn into the story and felt trapped on the island. Great comments and behind the scenes info.

    Jeff
    breadtruckfilms.com

  2. July 15, 2010 10:12 am

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

