Skip to content

I’m a sucker.. for an advertising business model!

January 13, 2012

I just realized I’m a sucker for technically creating a spec commercial for B&H in hopes to win a new Canon 5D  Mark II camera.  Unfortunately I didn’t make it as a finalist, that would of been nice to win a new camera!  I don’t want to sound like a poor sport but in losing I now see the bigger picture!  The company just got 1000+ free video advertisements online, for the price of 3 giveaway prizes.  I guess that’s the trade off when you’re apart of a contest like this.  After listening to The Terence and Philip Podcast “Is There A Future For Editors” on ProVideoCoalition.com, it got me thinking how many video producers, and editors are losing out on commercial jobs because of these contests?  It’s beneficial to those who win, those who get the views (like myself), and those who receive recognition because of these contest, but in the end it’s the company benefiting here.  Now that I’ve whore’d myself off and given B&H some more advertising.. watch my video below!

I had fun making this in the 4 hours it took.  I guess it was good practice!  You can vote for the finalist who were chosen here.  My vote for the top 3 finalist out of the 15 that were chosen go to the following:

1.  “The Magic Box”

2.  “The Delivery Boys”

3.  “Opening Up (B&H unboxed)”

I chose these 3 because they kept me entertained the entire time and I think they were done most creatively.  I really enjoyed “The Magic Box”, I have to admit it was better than mine!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2012 9:35 am

    We appreciate your entering our contest. I wish we could have more winners but somewhere along the line there has to be one first place, one second place and so on. I know we received many impressive entries and our judges had a hard time winnowing the field.


    Henry Posner
    B&H Photo-Video

  2. January 16, 2012 10:06 am

    Thanks for reading Henry! I had a fun time putting the video together, and I have no objections to who the judges have selected. I enjoyed watching the other contestants and thought there were a lot of creative videos. In my post I was just stating the obvious — how I like most people jumped at the opportunity to win a new camera, without realizing at the time the contest giveaway was a great marketing plan.

Leave a Reply

